How Wide Should a Sidewalk or Walkway Be?

How wide should a sidewalk be? Several documents answer that question, and each gives a different number for a different kind of walk. This guide sets them side by side and says what each one actually states.

Quick Answer

The 2010 ADA Standards set 36 inches (3 ft) as the minimum clear width of an accessible walking surface. The 2023 PROWAG final rule uses 48 inches (4 ft) for public rights-of-way. FHWA says residential sidewalks typically run 4 to 8 ft. Your local jurisdiction decides which number applies.

What Does the 2010 ADA Say About Walkway Width?

The 2010 ADA Standards, section 403.5.1, set the clear width of walking surfaces at 36 inches minimum, which is 3 ft. Section 403.1 says this applies to walking surfaces that are part of an accessible route.

One exception allows 32 inches minimum for a length of 24 inches at most. Reduced-width segments must be separated by segments at least 48 inches long and at least 36 inches wide.

Section 403.5.2 adds wider figures where a route turns 180 degrees around an element less than 48 inches wide. These are 42 inches approaching the turn, 48 at the turn and 42 leaving it. Once you settle on a width, the sidewalk concrete calculator takes it as an input.

What Number Does PROWAG Use for Public Sidewalks?

PROWAG sets the continuous clear width of a pedestrian access route at 48 inches minimum (4 ft), exclusive of the width of any curb. That is section R302.2 of the US Access Board guidelines for public rights-of-way, published as a final rule on 8 August 2023.

R302.2 also lists exceptions, for medians and refuge islands and for shared use paths. This article does not cover them.

PROWAG is a federal guideline, so its status matters. Section R101.2 says the guidelines apply to the extent required by regulations issued by Federal agencies. The Access Board page lists the Department of Transportation adopting it for transit stops (18 December 2024) and a GSA Federal Management Regulation adopting it (3 July 2024). The page does not say PROWAG governs ordinary city sidewalks, and this article does not claim it.

Published walk widths drawn to one scale Top-down strips drawn at 3 pixels per inch. The 36 inch strip is 108 pixels wide and matches the 2010 ADA walking surface minimum. The 48 inch strip is 144 pixels wide and matches the PROWAG pedestrian access route minimum. The 60 inch strip is 180 pixels wide and matches the FHWA Part II figure and the passing space size. The 72 inch strip is 216 pixels wide and matches the 6 ft clear zones in Seattle and Minneapolis. Published walk widths, drawn at 3 px per inch 36 in 48 in 60 in 72 in ADA 403.5.1 walking surface PROWAG R302.2 access route FHWA Part II figure and passing-space size Seattle, Minneapolis 6 ft clear zones Scale: 3 px per inch. Lengths are not to scale. These are published figures, not a recommendation.
Each strip is as wide as the number a source prints, at one scale.

How Often Are Passing Spaces Required?

Both documents ask for passing spaces at intervals of 200 ft maximum where the clear width is under 60 inches. ADA 403.5.3 covers accessible routes. PROWAG R302.3 covers pedestrian access routes.

PROWAG requires a space 60 inches by 60 inches minimum. The ADA allows either a 60 by 60 inch space or a T-shaped space. In the T, the base and arms extend 48 inches minimum beyond the intersection of two walking surfaces. A 36 inch or 48 inch walk is under 60 inches, so it falls under both passing-space rules.

Passing spaces along a narrow walk A walk 48 inches wide, drawn at 1.5 pixels per inch (72 pixels), with two passing spaces of 60 by 60 inches (90 by 90 pixels). A double arrow between them is labeled 200 ft maximum between passing spaces. Length is not to scale. Passing spaces where the walk is under 60 in wide Walk, 48 in wide 60 x 60 in 60 x 60 in 200 ft maximum between passing spaces Widths drawn at 1.5 px per inch. Length is not to scale.
A 60 by 60 inch space repeats at intervals of 200 ft maximum.

What Do the Slope Limits and Unit Conversions Mean?

Both documents cap running slope at 1:20 and cross slope at 1:48. ADA 403.3 states both limits. PROWAG prints them as R302.4 (grade, 1:20, or 5.0%) and R302.5.1 (cross slope, 1:48, or 2.1%). The steps below are arithmetic, not figures any source prints.

  1. Convert the widths. 36 in = 3 ft, 48 in = 4 ft, 60 in = 5 ft and 72 in = 6 ft.
  2. Check the cross slope. 1:48 means 1 in of fall per 48 in across. Over 12 in that is 12 / 48 = 1/4 in. A 48 in wide walk may fall no more than 48 x (1/48) = 1 in across its width.
  3. Check the running slope. 1:20 means 1 ft of rise over 20 ft. Since 20 ft = 240 in, 12 / 240 = 0.05, which is 5.0 percent and matches PROWAG’s printed 5.0%.
  4. Check the area. The sidewalk tool defaults to a 40 ft walk 3 ft wide, which is 36 in, the ADA minimum. That is 40 x 3 = 120 sq ft. At 4 ft wide it is 40 x 4 = 160 sq ft. At 5 ft wide it is 40 x 5 = 200 sq ft (area only, no volume).

What Does FHWA Say About Typical Sidewalk Widths?

The FHWA Complete Streets sidewalks page says sidewalks in residential or low-density commercial areas typically vary in width from 4 to 8 ft. That sentence describes a typical range. It is not a requirement.

The same page says a planted strip between the sidewalk and the curb should be at least 2 ft wide for maintenance activities. It also says extra width should be added for fixtures such as poles and signals. The page cites the 1992 ADA guidelines, an older version of the standard, so use the 2010 numbers above.

FHWA’s “Designing Sidewalks and Trails for Access,” Part II, section 4.3.3, reports on other guidelines. It says most of them require design widths of at least 60 inches, and that a 60 inch sidewalk is probably wide enough for pedestrian traffic in a residential area. FHWA does not state a 5 ft minimum in its own voice.

How Do Seattle and Minneapolis Compare?

Both cities publish numbers above the federal minimums. These are design standards, not building codes, and each applies to its own city only.

Seattle’s Streets Illustrated says new sidewalks match Figure J or existing adjacent conditions, whichever is greater. For a Neighborhood Corridor, Figure J lists a 6 ft minimum pedestrian clear zone. A footnote says 4 ft is the ADA absolute minimum, and 5 ft of clear width must remain around point obstructions such as poles and fire hydrants.

The Minneapolis Street Design Guide, section 3.2B, recommends clear zones of 6 ft or wider for all streets. It says at least 4 ft must always remain to meet ADA requirements.

Width figures by source, with each source’s own statement of status
Source Type Width stated Status as stated by the source
2010 ADA 403.5.1 Federal standard 36 in minimum clear width Applies to walking surfaces on an accessible route (403.1)
PROWAG R302.2 Federal guideline 48 in minimum clear width Applies to the extent required by Federal agency regulations (R101.2)
FHWA Complete Streets Federal guidance 4 to 8 ft typical Describes a typical range
FHWA Part II, 4.3.3 Federal guidance At least 60 in, as most guidelines reviewed require Reports other guidelines
Seattle Streets Illustrated City design standard 6 ft clear zone minimum, Neighborhood Corridor New sidewalks match Figure J or existing, whichever is greater
Minneapolis 3.2B City design guide 6 ft or wider recommended Described as recommended; 4 ft always kept for ADA

How Wide Should a Sidewalk Be When the Sources Are Silent?

Ask the office that governs the walk. Several answers are not stated in the sources read for this article.

  • Private paths. The ADA pages read here do not say whether a private home path is covered. Whether ADA or PROWAG applies to your property depends on use and local rules; that is not verified here.
  • Residential codes. The 2021 IRC page could not be read, so its width rules for a plain exterior walkway are not verified. Municipal code sections other than the two city design pages were also not read.
  • One standard width. No source read gives a single standard residential width. Three feet equals 36 inches, the ADA walking-surface minimum, by simple arithmetic, but no source read calls it the common residential width.
  • PROWAG on city sidewalks. The Access Board page lists agency adoptions but does not say PROWAG governs ordinary city sidewalks.

Call your local public works or building office, or your HOA, before you set a width. Related pages cover slabs and flatwork calculators, a route that needs a concrete ramp calculator, and the control joint spacing calculator.

Have a width? Size your walk.

Enter the length and the width your local office sets in the free sidewalk concrete tool for the volume and joints.

FAQs About Sidewalk Width

Is 36 inches wide enough for a walkway?

The 2010 ADA Standards set 36 inches as the minimum clear width of walking surfaces on an accessible route. Local rules may ask for more, so check with your local office.

What width does PROWAG set?

PROWAG R302.2 sets 48 inches (4 ft) minimum continuous clear width for pedestrian access routes in public rights-of-way, exclusive of the width of any curb.

Is PROWAG enforceable on my street?

The Access Board page says it applies to the extent federal agency regulations require. It lists DOT adoption for transit stops. It does not say PROWAG governs ordinary city sidewalks, so ask your city.

How often are passing spaces needed on a narrow walk?

At intervals of 200 ft maximum where the clear width is under 60 inches. Each space is at least 60 by 60 inches. The ADA also allows a T-shaped space.

What cross slope is allowed on a walk?

Not steeper than 1:48 in both the 2010 ADA Standards and PROWAG, which prints it as 1:48 (2.1%). On a 48 inch wide walk, that is 1 inch of fall across.

Do cities ask for more than the federal numbers?

Some publish larger figures. Seattle lists a 6 ft minimum pedestrian clear zone for Neighborhood Corridor streets, and Minneapolis recommends 6 ft or wider clear zones. Each applies to its own city.

Does a garden path have to meet ADA width rules?

It depends on use and local rules. The ADA pages read for this article do not say whether a private home path is covered, so that is not verified here.

Sources and Further Reading

References Used in This Article

Required widths depend on who owns and uses the walk, so ask your local public works or building office. This guide reports published figures and does not give legal advice. Reviewed for accuracy by Prof. Dr. Khalil Mudassar, PhD. Last updated 2026-10-19.