How Thick Should a Concrete Slab Be?

How thick should a concrete slab be, and who actually says so? For walks and patios, the sources we read cluster around 4 inches. For anything that carries vehicles, they spread out, and no single document settles it.

Quick Answer

The sources we read put walks and patios at about 4 inches. The 2021 IRC sets a minimum of 3 1/2 inches, but only for slab-on-ground floors, and it never names patios, walks or driveways. For driveways, published guidance runs from 4 to 6 inches or more. Local code and your plans decide.

What Does the Building Code Say About Slab Thickness?

The 2021 IRC requires slab-on-ground floors to be at least 3 1/2 inches (89 mm) thick. That minimum is in section R506.1, which is about slab-on-ground floors.

The words patio, walk and driveway do not appear in that section. So 3 1/2 inches is a floor rule, and the IRC text we read gives no patio, walk or driveway thickness.

R506.1 points elsewhere for two things. Concrete strength comes from Section R402.2, covered near the end of this guide. For expansive soils, R506.1 sends the reader to Section R403.1.8. We did not read that section, so this article claims nothing about it.

Where a slab is below grade, section R506.2.2 asks for a 4 inch base course on the prepared subgrade. It is not required on well-drained or sand-gravel soils (Group I in Table R405.1). Base preparation is a separate topic, so this guide stops there.

This guide does no volume math. To turn a thickness into a quantity of concrete, use the concrete slab calculator.

What the 2021 IRC thickness minimum covers A flow chart. Start with your concrete slab, then ask whether it is a slab-on-ground floor. If yes, 2021 IRC R506.1 sets at least 3 1/2 inches. For a patio, walk or driveway, R506.1 does not name them, and plans and local rules decide. What the 3 1/2 inch minimum covers Your concrete slab Is it a slab-on-ground floor? Yes Other uses Slab-on-ground floor: 2021 IRC R506.1 sets at least 3 1/2 in Patio, walk or driveway: R506.1 does not name them Plans and local rules decide
R506.1 is a floor rule; it gives no patio, walk or driveway figure.

What Do the Sources Say About Walks and Patios?

QUIKRETE says sidewalks should be at least 4 inches thick. For simple slabs such as small foundations and bases, it says normally 4 to 6 inches, depending on the load.

Ohio Concrete is an industry association. Its guide for driveways, carports, patios and walks (reprint 2016, revised 2009) says 3 1/2 to 4 inches is generally enough. It adds that a thicker pavement is excess material unless heavy trucks park on it regularly.

Four inches sits inside both ranges. QUIKRETE prints it as 4 in (100 mm). To size a patio once you have a thickness, see the concrete patio calculator.

The table below sorts the figures by type of source: a model code, a manufacturer, trade associations and trade media. The IRC is the only code in it, and its figure covers floors only.

What each source states about thickness
Source Type of source What it covers Thickness stated
2021 IRC, R506.1 Model code Slab-on-ground floors At least 3 1/2 in
QUIKRETE, sidewalks and small slabs Manufacturer Sidewalks; simple small slabs Sidewalks at least 4 in; small slabs normally 4 to 6 in, depending on load
Ohio Concrete guide Trade association Driveways, carports, patios, walks 3 1/2 to 4 in generally enough, unless heavy trucks park regularly
IRMCA, driveways page Trade association Driveways Minimum 4 in
ConcreteNetwork Trade media (2023) Residential driveways 4 to 6 in or more
A bag’s minimum pour is not a slab thickness. The QUIKRETE Concrete Mix 1101 data sheet says the product is designed for pouring concrete 2 inches (50 mm) thick or more. That is a limit for the product, not slab guidance.

What About Sheds and Garage Floors?

No source we read gives a thickness for a shed floor.

R506.1 applies to slab-on-ground floors but does not name sheds or garages. Whether it reaches a particular shed or garage is not stated in the text we read, so ask your building department.

You may see 5 to 6 inches quoted for garage floors. No primary source we read states that figure, and this article does not treat it as a rule.

For sizing a shed pad, see the shed base calculator.

How Thick Should a Concrete Slab Be for a Driveway?

Published guidance runs from 4 to 6 inches or more, and the sources differ.

The Illinois Ready Mixed Concrete Association (IRMCA) says to stake the forms for a minimum slab depth of 4 inches. Its page credits NRMCA as the information source.

ConcreteNetwork is trade media, not a code body. Its 2023 article says thickness can range from 4 to 6 inches or more. It calls 4 inches sufficient for a residential driveway with passenger vehicles or SUVs. It also says many municipalities require the apron at 5 or 6 inches. It cites no code document.

Load is the common thread. QUIKRETE ties its 4 to 6 inch range to the load a slab must bear. Ohio Concrete flags heavy trucks as the case for a thicker slab. Ohio Concrete gives no number for trucks.

No source we read gives a thickness for RVs, hot tubs or specific soils. For budgeting a driveway, see the concrete driveway cost calculator.

Published slab thickness figures, one scale Bars drawn at 40 pixels per inch. 2021 IRC floors: 3 1/2 inches (140 pixels). Ohio Concrete guide: 3 1/2 to 4 inches (ends at 160 pixels). QUIKRETE sidewalks: at least 4 inches (160). QUIKRETE small slabs: 4 to 6 inches (ends at 240). IRMCA driveways: minimum 4 inches (160). ConcreteNetwork driveways: 4 to 6 inches or more (ends at 240, with an arrow for more). These are published figures, not a recommendation. Published figures, in inches (not a recommendation) Lowest figure stated Range up to the highest figure 2021 IRC, floors 3 1/2 in Ohio Concrete guide 3 1/2 to 4 in QUIKRETE sidewalks at least 4 in QUIKRETE small slabs 4 to 6 in IRMCA, driveways minimum 4 in ConcreteNetwork 4 to 6 in or more → 0 3 4 5 6
The spread widens for driveways; the sources differ, so plans and local rules decide.

How Do Forms and Digging Set the Real Thickness?

QUIKRETE’s slab project page says to dig about 7 inches, allowing 3 inches for a gravel base and 4 inches for concrete. Here is the arithmetic for a patio slab built to that example.

  1. Dig depth. 3 in of gravel + 4 in of concrete = 7 in.
  2. Form lumber. The Ohio guide says a 3 1/2 inch slab can be formed with 2×4 lumber. QUIKRETE lists 2×4 or 2×6 lumber for forms.
  3. The gap. 4 in target – 3 1/2 in = 1/2 in. Forms sized for a 3 1/2 inch slab leave the 4 inch target half an inch short.

This is arithmetic from two sources, not a rule either one states. The Ohio guide also says to scrape loose base away from the forms so the edges are at least full thickness.

QUIKRETE’s example patio cross-section Layer heights drawn at 6 pixels per inch, width not to scale. Concrete is 4 inches (24 pixels). The gravel base is 3 inches (18 pixels). Together they make a dig of about 7 inches (42 pixels), as in QUIKRETE’s slab project page. QUIKRETE’s example: dig about 7 inches Subgrade (soil) 4 in concrete 3 in gravel base Dig about 7 in (3 in gravel + 4 in concrete) Layer heights at 6 px per inch; width not to scale. Example from QUIKRETE, not a requirement.
The 7 inch dig is the sum of the two layers.

What Strength Does the Code List, and What Is Not Stated?

Table R402.2 in the 2021 IRC lists concrete strength, not thickness. For weather-exposed porches, carport slabs and steps, and garage floor slabs, the 28-day strength is 2,500 psi for negligible weathering. It is 3,000 psi for moderate and 3,500 psi for severe.

The same table lists basement slabs and interior slabs on grade, except garage floor slabs, at 2,500 psi in every weathering zone. Concrete in moderate or severe weathering must also be air entrained.

The table text we read does not list patios, driveways or walkways by name, and no row gives a thickness. Joint layout is a separate topic; NRMCA’s CIP 6 gives joint spacing as 24 to 36 times slab thickness.

Not stated by any source we read:

  • A patio, walk or driveway thickness in the IRC.
  • A thickness for heavy trucks, RVs or hot tubs.
  • A thickness by soil type, such as clay or expansive soil, or by frost region.
  • An ACI, PCA or NRMCA residential driveway thickness (ACI 330 and ACI 332 were not read).
  • 5 or 6 inches as a code value for driveways or garage floors.
Pick the thickness, then size the pour

Take the thickness from your plans or local rules, then calculate your slab volume. The slabs and flatwork calculators hub lists the other shapes.

FAQs About Slab Thickness

Is 4 inches enough for a patio?

Four inches is the figure the sources we read give for walks and patios. QUIKRETE says sidewalks should be at least 4 inches. Ohio Concrete says 3 1/2 to 4 inches is generally enough. Check local rules.

Does the IRC set a thickness for patios?

No. The 2021 IRC sets 3 1/2 inches in R506.1 for slab-on-ground floors, and the text does not name patios, walks or driveways. Ask your building department which rules apply to your patio.

Is 3 1/2 inches ever enough?

The sources differ. It is the 2021 IRC minimum for slab-on-ground floors. Ohio Concrete says 3 1/2 to 4 inches is generally enough unless heavy trucks park regularly. QUIKRETE wants sidewalks at least 4 inches.

How thick should a driveway slab be?

Sources differ. IRMCA gives a 4 inch minimum, and ConcreteNetwork gives 4 to 6 inches or more. No source we read gives a thickness for heavy trucks. Local code and your plans decide.

How thick should a shed floor slab be?

No source we read gives a shed floor thickness. The 2021 IRC sets 3 1/2 inches for slab-on-ground floors, but the text does not name sheds. Ask your building department which rules apply.

What concrete strength does the code list for a garage slab?

Table R402.2 in the 2021 IRC lists 2,500, 3,000 or 3,500 psi for garage floor slabs, for negligible, moderate or severe weathering. Moderate and severe weathering also call for air-entrained concrete.

Do 2×4 forms make a 4 inch slab?

Not on the Ohio Concrete pairing. It says a 3 1/2 inch slab can be formed with 2×4 lumber, which is half an inch under 4 inches. QUIKRETE lists 2×4 or 2×6 lumber for forms.

Sources and Further Reading

References Used in This Article

The figures here are what each named source states, not a design. Slab thickness depends on load, soil and local rules, so confirm it with your plans or building department. Reviewed for accuracy by Prof. Dr. Khalil Mudassar, PhD. Last updated 2026-10-19.